The Society of Authors is a non-profit making organisation, founded in 1884, “to protect the rights and further the interests of authors”
Latest News
HarperCollins secures assets from The Friday Project
JK Rowling's Litigation in America
The 'Save Kids' TV' viral film hits the BBC
Latest news from the History Press
PFD update

View all news articles

About the Society


Brian Abbs
Dannie Abse
Allan Ahlberg
Brian Aldiss
Alan Ayckbourn
Nina Bawden
Antony Beevor
Simon Brett
Asa Briggs
A. S. Byatt
Arthur C. Clarke
Wendy Cope
Peter Dickinson
Maurice Druon
Nicholas Faith
Clare Francis
Dick Francis
Antonia Fraser
Michael Frayn
Victoria Glendinning
Ronald Harwood
Richard Hoggart
Michael Holroyd
William Horwood
Shirley Hughes
Steve Jones
H. R. F. Keating
Francis King
Doris Lessing
Penelope Lively
David Lodge
Deborah Moggach
Jan Morris
Andrew Motion
Ian McEwan
V. S. Naipaul
Derek Parker
Jill Paton Walsh
Harold Pinter
Terry Pratchett
Philip Pullman
Isabel Quigly
Piers Paul Read
Ruth Rendell
Gillian Reynolds
JK Rowling
Alan Sillitoe
Robert Skidelsky
Hilary Spurling
Tom Stoppard
Claire Tomalin
Rose Tremain
William Trevor
Joanna Trollope
Fay Weldon
Jacqueline Wilson
Philip Ziegler