Text Resize


Costa launches new Short Story Award

Costa announces the launch of the Costa Short Story Award, a brand new Award for a single short story that will run in association with the Costa Book Awards but be judged independently of the main five-category system.

The new Award is for a single, previously unpublished short story of up to 4,000 words by an author aged 18 years or over and written in English.  The author’s primary residence must have been the UK or Ireland for the past three years.

Entry opens on Monday 16 July and closes at 4pm on Friday 7 September.  Entries must be submitted online via a dedicated page at www.costabookawards.com.  Entrants need not have been previously published but publishers and agents may submit entries on behalf of authors.

All entries will be judged anonymously – in other words, without the identity of the author being available to the judges.

A panel of five judges will select a shortlist of six entries which will be revealed in November. The public will then be invited to vote online for their favourite story from the six finalists.  

The winner will be announced at the Costa Book Awards ceremony on 29 January 2013 and will receive £3,500; two runners-up will each receive £750.

The judges for the 2012 Costa Short Story Award are:

  • Richard Beard: Director of the National Academy of Writing
  • Fanny Blake: Novelist and Journalist; Books Editor of Woman & Home
  • Gary Kemp: Songwriter and guitarist for Spandau Ballet; Actor and Writer
  • Victoria Hislop: Writer
  • Simon Trewin: Agent, William Morris Endeavor

For more information on this year’s Costa Book Awards, go to www.costabookawards.com.




An annual subscription (£95 or £68 if you're under 35) entitles you to unlimited advice on all aspects of the writing profession.


Already part of the Society?