Text Resize



The Authors' Awards

The Authors' Awards honour new and established writers of fiction, non-fiction and poetry.

The Awards

  • The Cholmondeley Awards are awarded annually to honour distinguished poets. Submissions are not accepted.
    Find out more | past winners
  • The Tom-Gallon Trust Award: An annual prize of £1,000 for a short story. Published and unpublished stories may be entered.
    Find out more | past winners
  • The Eric Gregory Awards are awarded to British poets under the age of 30 on the basis of a submitted collection. Published and unpublished collections may be entered.
    Find out more | past winners
  • The Elizabeth Longford Prize for Historical Biography is a prize of £5,000 for the best published historical biography of the year. No unsolicited submissions are accepted.
    Find out more | past winners
  • The Somerset Maugham Awards are awarded to British authors under the age of 35 for a published work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry. Entry is by the publisher.
    Find out more | past winners
  • The McKitterick Prize of £4,000 is awarded for a first novel by an author over the age of 40. The prize is open to published and unpublished novels.
    Find out more  | past winners
  • The Betty Trask Prize and Awards are awarded to authors under the age of 35 for a first novel, published or unpublished.
    Find out more | past winners
  • The Travelling Scholarships are honorary awards made annually to British writers. Submissions are not accepted. Find out more
  • The ELT Writing Award: This prize for ELT writing is sponsored by the British Council. Find out more


The 2013 Awards

£70,000 of prize money for twenty-four writers

The awards and prizes were presented by the poet and playwright Carol Ann Duffy CBE, FRSL on Thursday 13 June at the Army and Navy Club, London. The Society's Chair, biographer Anne Sebba, introduced the event celebrating 24 writers and the presentation of nine literary awards.
Find out more…

Carol Ann Duffy (pictured right, at the reception with poet Simon Armitage) on the Authors' Awards:

'One great thing, that has remained a constant, is that each of these awards being celebrated today is judged by a group of writers. The financial effect of winning a prize cannot be underestimated, of course, but it means so much to a winner to get the seal of approval from other authors.'

The Poet Laureate reminisced about winning an Eric Gregory herself, before going on to win a Cholmondeley:

'twenty-nine years ago, back in 1984 – which was the year of the Society’s centenary - I was presented with an Eric Gregory Award. I waited, in a group at the dark panelled edges of the Stationers’ Hall, along with Lachlan Mackinnon and the late Mick Imlah - in fact seven, slighty drunk, nervous men and me!'




An annual subscription (£95 or £68 if you're under 35) entitles you to unlimited advice on all aspects of the writing profession.


Already part of the Society?