Text Resize


Daisy Hildyard, one of the winners of a Somerset Maugham Award 2014

The Somerset Maugham Awards

W. Somerset Maugham set up a fund in 1947 to enable young writers to enrich their work by gaining experience of foreign countries.

  • Awarded to British authors under the age of 35 for a published work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry
  • The prize money must be used for foreign travel
  • Click here for details on how to apply

The 2014 Awards

Winners: Nadifa Mohamed for The Orchard of Lost Souls (Simon & Schuster) received £4,000, Daisy Hildyard for Hunters in the Snow (Cape) received £4,000, and Amy Sackville for Orkney (Granta) received £2,000.

Judges: Naomi Alderman, Bidisha, and Adam O’Riordan.


Pictured: Nadifa Mohamed.


View Past winners

Back to Grants and Prizes



An annual subscription (£95 or £68 if you're under 35) entitles you to unlimited advice on all aspects of the writing profession.


Already part of the Society?