The Society of Authors is a non-profit making organisation, founded in 1884, “to protect the rights and further the interests of authors”
Latest News
HarperCollins secures assets from The Friday Project
JK Rowling's Litigation in America
The 'Save Kids' TV' viral film hits the BBC
Latest news from the History Press
PFD update

View all news articles

About the Society

Staff

You can contact the Society’s staff between 9:30am and 5:30pm Monday to Thursday. On Fridays the offices are open between 9:30am and 1pm and between 2pm and 5pm.

The Society’s staff and their principal areas of responsibility are as follows:

Mark Le Fanu
General Secretary

Policy, negotiations/disputes with publishers and agents, finance, Public Lending Right.

Email: MLeFanu@societyofauthors.net

Kate Pool
Deputy General Secretary

Advice to members on contracts, publishing, copyright, etc. Manager of The Author and publications, Secretary of the Academic Writers Group.

Email: KPool@societyofauthors.net

Jo McCrum (née Hodder)
Assistant General Secretary – currently on maternity leave

Advice to members on publishing and broadcasting matters, Secretary of the Broadcasting Group and Secretary of the Children’s Writers and Illustrators Group.

For all Children’s Writers and Illustrators Group enquiries please contact Anna Ganley.

For all Broadcasting Group enquiries please contact Rose Hudson.


Jeremy Crow
Head of Literary Estates

Advice to members on stage and screen contracts and issues.

Email:JCrow@societyofauthors.net

Elizabeth Haylett
Literary Estates, advice to members on publishing contracts and issues, Secretary of the Educational Writers Group.

Email: EHaylett@societyofauthors.net

Emma Boniwell
Membership Secretary

Membership queries, recruitment, subscriptions and database management. Regional meetings.

Email: EBoniwell@societyofauthors.net

Paula Johnson
Awards Secretary

Prizes, grants and awards.

Email:PJohnson@societyofauthors.net

Lisa Dowdeswell
Permissions Manager

Copyright and permissions, literary estates and foreign rights.

Email: LDowdeswell@societyofauthors.net

Sarah Baxter
Membership Assistant.

Membership queries, subscriptions to The Author, Secretary of Authors’ North, Secretary of the Medical Writers Judging Panel, assists with the Translators Association and charitable trust applications.

Email: SBaxter@societyofauthors.net

Anna Ganley (née Pattison)
Website manager, liaison with the Society of Authors in Scotland and Author’s Arcade advertising.

Email: AGanley@societyofauthors.net

Rose Hudson
Office Manager

Bookings for meetings, boardroom hire and Group Legal Protection Scheme.

Email: RHudson@societyofauthors.net


Jon Andrewartha

Accountant

Email: JAndrewartha@societyofauthors.net

Amy Pfahlert
Receptionist

General enquiries, publications, online database

Email: APfahlert@societyofauthors.net