Text Resize


The Tinniswood Award

The Tinniswood Award was established by the Society of Authors and the Writers’ Guild of Great Britain to perpetuate the memory of Peter Tinniswood as well as to celebrate and encourage high standards in radio drama.

The winners of the Tinniswood Award 2014

We are pleased to announce the winners of the Tinniswood Award 2014 are Colin Teevan and Hannah Silva for Marathon Tales. The award was judged by Louise Doughty, Marcy Kahan and David Pownall. The award was presented at the BBC Audio Drama Awards on Sunday 26 January by the playwright and screenwriter of Spooks fame, Howard Brenton.

Marathon Tales by Colin Teevan and Hannah Silva
Produced by David Hunter, BBC Drama (London), 90, BBC Radio 3

This play ingeniously combines the stories of a number of Marathon runners ancient and modern; the original Pheidippides, Atalanta, Hippomenes, Abebe Bikila, John Tarrant the “Ghost Runner”, Dorando Pietri the “People’s Champion”; pioneer of women's running Kathy Switzer, and  contemporary amateur and professional runners preparing for the London Marathon.

The judges said: High-spiritedly ambitious from the start, joint authors Colin Teevan and Hannah Silva pick up radio drama’s potential and run with it in this ninety minute, fifty-character extravaganza.
Even the structure is witty – a stadium of the mind made of landscapes and cities, runners everywhere, clockwise, anti-clockwise, criss-crossing in time, flinging out questions, quarrelling, yearning. The listener is always in danger of being left behind by the rampant gods, footsore messengers, sports maladministrators, feminists, and shamateurs. The action is comic one second, tragic the next, making the listener swallow moral and political issues like a marathon runner snatching a drink on the hoof.  This is a stimulating, pleasing, lively mix of ideas and emotions to stir the imagination of even the most sedentary. Perhaps it is its unusual flexing of freedom inside the scope of radio that is most appealing. A speedy and sure-footed play.

The winning play was shortlisted alongside:

  • Dusty Won't Play by Annie Caulfield
  • Once Upon a Time There Was a Beatrix by Lavinia Murray
  • Imo & Ben by Mark Ravenhill

Read more about the Tinniswood shortist 2014

The Tinniswood Award 2015

Download the entry form


Any audio drama script first broadcast or made available online within the UK by a UK based producer during the period 1 October 2013 - 31 October 2014. The work must be an original piece for audio as broadcast and may also include the first episode from an original series or serial. When submitting 15-minute episodes from a series or serial we will require consecutive episodes (including the first episode) to make up at least 45 minutes. The judges reserve the right to call in the subsequent episodes if required. We welcome 30-minute plays provided that they were stand-alone and that characters and situations are original to the writer.

An adaptation for radio of a piece originally written for any other medium e.g. stage, television, film, novel, poem or a short story will not be eligible.


Submissions will be accepted from any party (producer, broadcasting organisation, writer, agent, etc.) and should consist of:

  • a completed entry form;
  • a non-refundable entry fee of £50;
  • a PDF and four copies of the script (as broadcast);
  • a synopsis and author biography (each no more than 250 words) which should be emailed to Anne Hogben (anne@writersguild.org.uk).

Entries will not be returned and should be sent to Anne Hogben, Tinniswood Award, The Writers’ Guild of Great Britain, 1st Flr, 134 Tooley Street, London, SE1 2TU by 17 September 2014.

The Tinniswood Award is jointly administered by the Writers’ Guild of Great Britain and the Society of Authors with the prize of £1,500 generously sponsored by the Authors’ Licencing and Collecting Society. See: www.writersguild.org.uk and www.alcs.co.uk


The winner will also receive a Pure digital radio.


Related links

The inaugural BBC Audio Drama Awards

The Tinniswood 2012

Imison and Tinniswood past winners



An annual subscription (£95 or £68 if you're under 35) entitles you to unlimited advice on all aspects of the writing profession.


Already part of the Society?