The Society of Authors is a non-profit making organisation, founded in 1884, “to protect the rights and further the interests of authors”
Latest News
HarperCollins secures assets from The Friday Project
JK Rowling's Litigation in America
The 'Save Kids' TV' viral film hits the BBC
Latest news from the History Press
PFD update

View all news articles

Prizes, grants and awards

Vondel Prize (past winners)

For Dutch/Flemish Translation

2007 Susan Massotty My Father’s Notebook: A Novel by Kader Abdolah (HarperCollins) Runner up: Sherry Marx Daalder’s Chocolates by Philibert Schogt (Thunder’s Mouth Press, New York)

2005 Diane Webb Colors Demonic & Divine by Herman Pleij (Columbia University Press) No runner up

2003 Sam Garrett The Rider by Tim Krabbe (Bloomsbury) Runner up: Susan Massotty All Souls’ Day by Cees Nooteboom (Picador)

2001 Hester Velmans A Heart of Stone by Renate Dorrestein (Doubleday) Highly commended: Paul Vincent Metaphors of Memory by Douwe Draaisma (Cambridge University Press)

1999 Ina Rilke Roads to Santiago by Cees Noteboom (Harvill/Harcourt) Brace and the Virtuoso by Margriet de Moor (Picador) Highly commended: Sam Garrett The Gates of Damascus by Lieve Joris (Lonely Planet) and Mali Blues by Lieve Joris (Lonely Planet) Stacey Knecht Desire by Hugo Claus (Viking) Sherry Marx-Macdonald Darwin’s Dreampond by Tijs Goldschmidt (MIT Press)

1996 Stacey Knecht The Great Longing by Marcel Möring (Flamingo) Highly commended: Noel Clark Lucifer by Joost van den Vondel (Absolute Press)