2012 translation prize winners


The 2012 Translation Prize Winners

On Monday 04 February five translators received prizes totalling over £18,000 at the Society of Authors’ Translation Prizes, held at Kings Place, London.

The prizes were presented by Sir Peter Stothard, Editor of the TLS at the special readings event, held in conjunction with the Sebald Lecture, this year given by Boris Akunin (pictured left). Click here to read Akunin's address at the awards evening.


The 2012 winners

The John Florio Prize (Italian)

The John Florio Prize of £2,000 is awarded biennially.

Winner: Anne Milano for her translation of Scent of a Woman by Giovanni Arpino (Penguin Classics, pictured centre right).

Commended: Howard Curtis for his translation of In the Sea There are Crocodiles by Fabio Geda (Harvill Secker).

Commended: Shaun Whiteside for his translation of Stabat Mater by Tiziano Scarpa (Serpant's Tail, pictured far right).

Sponsors: The Italian Cultural Institute, Arts Council England.

Judges: Dr Laura Rorato and Marina Warner.

The Calouste Gulbenkian Prize (Portuguese)

The Calouste Gulbenkian Prize is awarded biennially and is worth £3,000.

Winner: Margaret Jull Costa for her translation of The Word Tree by Teolinda Gersão (Dedalus, pictured far right).

Commended: Margaret Jull Costa for her translation of The Land at the End of the World by Antonio Lobo Antunes (Norton).

Judges: Dr Ana Margarida Martins and Dr Patricia Odber de Baubeta.

The Hellenic Foundation for Culture Translation Prize (Greek)

The Hellenic Foundation Prize of £1,000 was awarded for the first time in 2002 and is presented triennially.

Winner: Avi Sharon for his translation of Selected Poems by C. P. Cavafy (Penguin, pictured far right).

Commended: Anne-Marie Stanton-Ife for her translation of A Short Border Handbook by Gazmend Kapllani (Portobello).

Judges: Professor Dimitris Tziovas and Sara Wheeler.

The Saif Ghobash-Banipal Prize (Arabic)

The £3,000 Saif Ghobash-Banipal Prize, first awarded in 2006, is presented annually. The prize was

established by Banipal, the magazine of modern Arab literature, and the Banipal Trust for Arab Literature.

Winner: Roger Allen for his translation of A Muslim Suicide by Bensalem Himmich (Syracuse University Press).

Commended: Humphrey Davis for his translation of I Was Born There, I Was Born Here by Mourid Barghouti (Bloomsbury, pictured far right).

Sponsors: Omar Saif Ghobash and the Ghobash family and the Banipal Trust for Arab Literature.

Judges: Fadhil al-Azzawi, Esther Freud, Ruth Padel and Dr John Peate.

The Schlegel-Tieck Prize (German)

The Schlegel-Tieck Prize (£3,000) has been awarded annually since 1965 and takes its name from two

great poets of the Romantic Period, August Wilhelm Schlegel (1767-1845) and his friend Ludwig Tieck (1773-1853), also a noted translator.

Winner: Vincent Kling for his translation of Why the Child is Cooking in the Polenta by Aglaja Veteranyi (Dalkey Archive Press).

Commended: Ross Benjamin for his translation of Funeral for a Dog by Thomas Pletzinger (Norton, pictured far right).

Sponsors: The Goethe-Institut and Arts Council England.

Judges: Emily Jeremiah, Dr Johannes Kaminski and Lyn Marven.

The Scott Moncrieff Prize (French)

The Scott Moncrieff Prize of £2,000 has been awarded annually since 1965 and is named for Scott Moncrieff, the celebrated translator of Proust’s Remembrance of Things Past.

Winner: Malcolm Imrie for his translation of Fear by Gabriel Chevallier (Serpent's Tail).

Commended: Giles MacDonogh for his translation of Testicles by Blandine Vié (Prospect Books, pictured far right).

Sponsors: The French Ministry of Culture, The French Embassy and Arts Council England.

Judges: Dr Johanna Malt and Michèle Roberts.

The Bernard Shaw Prize (Swedish)

The Bernard Shaw Prize was established in 1991 and is awarded triennially.

Winner: Robin Fulton for his translation of Chickweed Wintergreen by Harry Martinson (Bloodaxe Books, pictured far right).

Commended: Peter Graves for his translation of The Beauty and the Sorrow by Peter Englund (Profile).

Judges: Andrew Brown and Dr BJ Epstein.

The Premio Valle Inclán (Spanish)

The Premio Valle Inclán of £2,000 is given annually, and was first awarded in 1997.

Winner: Frank Wynne for his translation of Kamchatka by Marcelo Figueras (Atlantic, pictured far right).

Runner-up: Margaret Jull Costa for her translation of The Sickness by Alberto Barrera Tyszka (Maclehose Press).

Sponsors: The Cultural Office of the Spanish Embassy, The Instituto Cervantes in London, Arts Council


Judges: John King, Jeremy Munday and Jason Wilson.


The Society of Authors' Translation Prizes 2013  The Society of Authors' Grants and Prizes  |  TLS  |  Paradise Lost: Confessions of an apostate translator by Boris Akunin