The Management Committee is overseen by a Council of eminent writers, which meets twice a year. The Council is as follows:

Brian Abbs

Dannie Abse

Allan Ahlberg

Brian Aldiss

Alan Ayckbourn

Nina Bawden

Antony Beevor

William Boyd

Simon Brett

Asa Briggs

A. S. Byatt

Tracy Chevalier

Wendy Cope

Peter Dickinson

Helen Dunmore

Nicholas Faith

Clare Francis

Antonia Fraser

Michael Frayn

Martin Gilbert

Victoria Glendinning

Ronald Harwood

Richard Hoggart

Michael Holroyd

William Horwood

Shirley Hughes

Steve Jones

Francis King

Doris Lessing

Penelope Lively

David Lodge

Ian McEwan

Deborah Moggach

Jan Morris

Andrew Motion

V. S. Naipaul

Derek Parker

Jill Paton Walsh

Terry Pratchett

Philip Pullman

Isabel Quigly

Piers Paul Read

Ruth Rendell

Gillian Reynolds

JK Rowling

Hilary Spurling

Tom Stoppard

Claire Tomalin

Rose Tremain

William Trevor

Joanna Trollope

Fay Weldon

Jacqueline Wilson

Philip Ziegler


Search for a Writer

Search for a Literary Translator

You can search by name, subject area, work specialisation or language, by keyword or postal area.


Annual membership (£90.00 or £64 if you’re under 35) entitles you to unlimited advice on all aspects of the writing profession.


Already a member? Login