Prizes, grants and awards

Encore Award

The Encore Award 2007 for the best second novel of 2005 and 2006 has been awarded to

M.J. Hyland for CARRY ME DOWN (Canongate).

The prize of £10,000 was presented by Dan Jacobson at a reception in the Nash Room at the ICA on 22nd May. The judges were Alex Clark, Lindsay Duguid and Peter Parker.

Runners up:

Vikram Chandra – Sacred Games (Faber)

Will Eaves – Nothing to be Afraid Of (Picador)

James Lasdun – Seven Lies (Cape)

Mary Lawson – The Other Side of the Bridge (Chatto)

Jon McGregor – So Many Ways to Begin ( Bloomsbury)


The Encore Award, now awarded biennially, was first awarded in 1990.

For further information contact Paula Johnson on 020 7373 6642 / Canongate 0131 557 5111

Click here to download the entry form for the 2009 Award.