medical book prizes 2006

Prizes, grants and awards

Medical Book Awards 2006

The Society of Authors and The Royal Society of Medicine Book Awards 2006

The Awards totalling £8,800 were presented on Wednesday 18th October by psychologist and celebrity doctor, Tanya Byron, at a ceremony at the Royal Society of Medicine, Wimpole Street, London.

The Royal Society of Medicine Library Prize: the Society of Authors/RSM Medical Book of the Year, chosen from among the winners of the individual categories

Winner (£1,200) – awarded to:

Drug Discovery and Development – Humphrey Rang

(Churchill Livingstone)

Nine further prizes for individual categories were presented as follows:

Prize 1: The Richard Asher Prize (sponsored anonymously)

Winner (£1,200) – awarded to:

Atlas of Clinical Gross Anatomy – Kenneth P Moses, John C Banks, Pedro B Nava and Darrell Petersen


Prize 2: New Authored Book

Winner (£1,200) – awarded to:

First Steps in Vesico-Vaginal Fistula Repair – Brian Hancock

(RSM Press)

Prize 3: New Edited Book retailing at less than £75

Winner: (£900) – awarded to:

Drug Discovery and Development – edited by Humphrey Rang

(Churchill Livingstone)

Prize 4: New Edited Book retailing at £75 or over

Winner: (£900) – awarded to:

The Oxford Textbook of Palliative Care for Children – edited by Ann Goldman, Richard Hain and Stephen Liben

(Oxford University Press)

Prize 5: New Non-Clinical Book

Winner (£600) – awarded to:

Nelson’s Surgeon, William Beatty, Naval Medicine and the Battle of Trafalgar – Laurence Brockliss, John Cardwell and Michael Moss

(Oxford University Press)

Prize 6: New Edition Authored Book

Winner (£600) – awarded to:

Liver Biopsy Interpretation (7th edition) – Peter J Scheuer & Jay Lefkowitch

(Elsevier Saunders)

Prize 7: New Edition Edited Book

Winner (£600) – awarded jointly to:

Textbook of Female Urology and Urogynecology – edited by Linda Cardozo and David Staskin

(Taylor & Francis)


Treatment of Skin Disease: Comprehensive Therapeutic Strategies (2nd edition) – edited by Mark G Lebwohl, John Berth-Jones, Ian Coulson and Warren R Heymann


Prize 8: The Minty Prize of the Medico-Legal Society

Winner (£1,000) – awarded to:

Encylcopedia of Forensic and Legal Medicine – edited by Jason Payne-James, Roger Byard, Tracey Corey and Carol Henderson


Prize 9: Medical Book for the General Reader

Winner (£600) – awarded to:

Pregnancy & Conception Over 35 – Laura Goetzl and Regine Harford

(Dorling Kindersley)

The prizes were judged by the Medical Writers Group of the Society of Authors, and are sponsored by the Royal Society of Medicine.

See also/Related links


Charitable Trusts

Prizes for fiction and non-fiction

Translation prizes

Medical Book Prizes

Medical Book Prizes (past winners)

Prizes for medical books entry details