news detail newsarticlepk E6DD0C43D44E558B01C88DEC0D4D5799

School Librarians of the Year 2008

The six  SLA Honour List School Librarians of the Year 2008 enjoyed tea at the House of Commons after the award ceremony at One Birdcage Walk on 7th May.

Between them the six librarians honoured demonstrated a range of the very best practice to be seen in our school libraries. Teaching staff, in all six schools,  said that they often ran to the library for help and advice – over a friendly cup of tea or coffee – so it seemed appropriate that Anne Snelgrove MP presented each of the librarians with a House of Commons mug!

Anne Dawson (Dulwich College Junior School)

Rebecca Marshall ( Lipson Community College, Plymouth)

Shona Phillips – very highly commended (The Royal Blind School, Edinburgh)

Nikki Heath – WINNER ( Werneth School, Stockport)

Karen Bhatti – very highly commended (Yeading Junior School, Hayes )

Robert Logan (Queen Elizabeth’s Community College Upper School, Crediton)

The nomination period for 2009 will open in August and run to 30th November.  The Nomination Form will appear on the School Library Association website and also in the Autumn edition of The School Librarian.