past winners

Prizes, grants and awards

Elizabeth Longford Prize for Historical Biography

The Elizabeth Longford Prize for Historical Biography was established in 2003 in affectionate memory of Elizabeth Longford, the acclaimed biographer, and is sponsored by Flora Fraser and Peter Soros.

It is awarded annually for a historical biography published in the year preceding the prize.

No unsolicited submissions are accepted.

Past winners

2007 Jessie Childs Henry VIII’s Last Victim – The Life and Times of Henry Howard, Earl of Surrey (Cape) £3,000

2006 Charles Williams Pétain (Little, Brown) £3,000

2005 Ian Kershaw Making Friends with Hitler: Lord Londonderry and Britain’s Road to War (Penguin Allen Lane) £3,000

2004 Katie Whitaker Mad Madge: Margaret Cavendish, Duchess of Newcastle, Royalist, Writer and Romantic (Chatto & Windus) £3,000

2003 David Gilmour The Long Recessional: The Imperial Life of Rudyard Kipling (John Murray) £3,000