prizes for educational books

Grants and Prizes

The 2009 ALCS Award for Educational Writing – £2,000

For a second year in 2009, the Society of Authors is administering the Authors’ Licensing and Collecting Society Award for Educational Writing.  

The Award

The award will be given to an outstanding example of traditionally published non-fiction (with or without illustrations) that enhances teaching and learning.  

The idea is to celebrate books that encourage students to read widely and build up an understanding of the subject, rather than only mirroring examination specifications.

The award this year will be for books published during 2007 and 2008 for the 5-11 age group, and will be presented in late autumn 2009. 

The Judges

The judges for the 2009 Award are Ali Barne, a former primary teacher, currently primary language coach, helping to develop Modern Foreign languages teaching in four primary schools in Oxfordshire, Pamela Girdwood, the librarian at Bluegatefields Junior in Tower Hamlets and literacy specialist, writer, broadcaster and educational consultant , Sue Palmer.

The annual submissions deadline

  • 1st June

The 2008 Winner

The winner of the 2008 Educational Writers’ Award was Ian Gilbert for The Little Book of Thunks: 260 Questions to Make your Brain Go Ouch! (Crown House Publishing).

Gilbert received his cheque for £2,000 from Dr Ian Gibson MP at a reception at the Stationers’ Hall, London. This year’s award was presented for non-fiction published in 2006 and 2007 that enhanced teaching and learning for 12 to 18 year-olds.

The judges described Gilbert’s book as "a completely original book to get all ages stretching their imaginations, thinking, discussing cogently and debating… a valuable tool for the teacher”.

The three other shortlisted titles were:

  • Simon Basher & Adrian Dingle for The Periodic Table – Elements with Style! (Kingfisher)
  • Tish Farrell for Write Your Own Adventure Stories (Ticktock Media)
  • Glenn Murphy for Why Is Snot Green? (Macmillan)

The judges also commended Meg Harper’s Wha’ever published by The Spinal Injuries Association.

The judging panel consisted of author Mel Thompson, teacher Vanessa Carey and school librarian Laura Taylor.