prizes for published translations

Grants and Prizes

Translation Prizes

The Society of Authors administers prizes for published translations from Arabic, Dutch, French, German, Greek (modern),  Italian, Portuguese, Spanish and Swedish.

The 2009 Translation Awards  

Translation awards administered by the Society of Authors this year are for books from the Arabic, Dutch, French, German, Portuguese, Spanish and Swedish.

The 2008 Prize Winners

The John Florio Prize for translation from the Italian – Peter Robinson for the greener meadow by Luciano Erba (Princeton University Press) – £3,000

The Hellenic Foundation for Culture Translation Award for translation from the modern Greek – Roderick Beaton for A Levant Journal by George Seferis (Ibis Editions) – £1,000

Premio Valle Inclán for translation from the Spanish – Joint winners Nick Caistor for The Past by Alan Pauls (Harvill Secker) – £1,000 and John Dent-Young for Selected Poems by Luis de Góngora (The University of Chicago Press) – £1,000

The Saif Ghobash Banipal Prize for translation from the Arabic – Fady Joudah for The Butterfly’s Burden by  Mahmoud Darwish (Bloodaxe Books) – £2,000

The Schlegel-Tieck Prize for translation from the German – Ian Fairley for Snow Part by Paul Celan (Carcanet) – £2,000

The Scott Moncrieff Prize for translation from the French – Frank Wynne for Holiday in a Coma and Love Lasts Three Years by Frédéric Beigbeder (4th Estate) – £2,000

The evening opened with specially chosen readings, given by all seven winning translators. The Translation Prizes were awarded by Sir Peter Stothard, editor of the Times Literary Supplement* and the subsequent Sebald Lecture also took the form of a reading by Louis de Bernières of his short story, A Day Out with Mehmet Erbil, which was followed by a question and answer session with the Queen Elizabeth Hall audience.

*Coverage of the awards and prizewinners can be found in the September 26th issue of the TLS no 5504.