prizes for radio drama

Grants and Prizes

Prizes for radio drama broadcast

The 2009 Awards

The Imison Award – £1,500 to the writer

The Imison Award honours the best original radio drama script by a writer new to radio, broadcast over 2008. The prize of £1,500 is donated by the Peggy Ramsay Foundation and judges are members of the Society of Authors Broadcasting Committee (David Docherty (Chair), Mike Bartlett, Nazrin Choudhury, Joe Dunlop, Alison Joseph, Nell Leyshon, Karen Liebreich, Sue Limb, Anne Sebba and Nick Warburton).

The 2009 shortlist

  • Flaw in the Motor, Dust in the Blood by Trevor Preston (Toby Swift, BBC Radio Drama)
  • Girl From Mars by Lucy Caldwell (Anne Simpson, BBC Northern Ireland)
  • Cobwebs by David Hodgson (Gary Brown, BBC Radio Drama)   


The Tinniswood Award – £1,500 to the writer

The Tinniswood Award honours the best original radio drama script broadcast during 2008. The prize of £1,500 is donated by the ALCS and judges are Kate Chisholm, Colin Shaw and Roger Elsgood.

The 2009 shortlist

  • The Switch by Ali Smith (David Jackson Young, BBC Scotland)
  • Goldfish Girl by Peter Souter (Gordon House, BBC Radio Drama)
  • The Heroic Pursuits of Darleen Fyles by Esther Wilson (Pauline Harris, BBC Radio Drama, Manchester)
  • Far North by Louis Nowra (Judith Kampfner, Corporation For Independent Media)


The Presentation


Presentation of the awards, by Mike Hodges, will take place on the evening of 27th October at the British Academy, London.  Invitations will be sent out shortly. Plays will be rebroadcast on BBC Radio 3, 4 and 7 and will be available from the BBC website 7 days on-demand.

For further information about either award please contact Jo McCrum at or on tel: 020 7373 6642. 

See also

The Imison Award

The Tinniswood Award

Radio Drama Awards – previous winners