saif ghobash banipal prize

Prizes, grants and awards

The Saif Ghobash Banipal Prize (past winners)

For Arabic Literary Translation

Prize: £2,000

Sponsor: Mohammed Ahmad Al-Sowaidi, Arts Council England

2008 Fady Joudah for The Butterfly’s Burden by Mahmoud Darwish (Bloodaxe Books)

2007 Farouk Abdel Wahab The Lodging House by Khairy Shalaby (American university in Cairo Press)

Runner-up: Marilyn Booth Thieves in Retirement by Hamdi Abu Golayyel (Syracuse University Press) Commended: Peter Theroux Saraya, The Ogre’s Daughter by Emile Habiby (Ibis Editions)

2006 Humphrey Davies Gate of the Sun by Elias Khoury (Harvill Secker) Runner up: Hala Halim Clamor of the Lake by Mohamed El-Bisatie (American University in Cairo Press)