sunday times past winners

Prizes, grants and awards

The Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year (past winners)

2007 Naomi Alderman Disobedience (Viking)

2001 Zadie Smith White Teeth (Hamish Hamilton)

2000 Sarah Waters Affinity (Little, Brown)

1999 Paul Farley The Boy from the Chemist is Here to See You (Picador Macmillan)

1998 Patrick French Liberty or Death (HarperCollins)

1997 Francis Spufford I May Be Some Time (Faber & Faber)

1996 Katherine Pierpoint Truffle Beds(Faber & Faber)

1995 Andrew Cowan Pig (Michael Joseph Penguin)

1994 William Dalrymple City of Djinns (HarperCollins)

1993 Simon Armitage Xanadu (Bloodaxe) Kid (Faber & Faber)

1992 Caryl Phillips Cambridge (Bloomsbury)

1991 Helen Simpson Four Bare Legs in a Bed (Heinemann)